TROUBLESOME TICKS

Tis’ the season to check your pets for those horrible little blood suckers.
I don’t know why they have started coming back so fast/ thick.
Either way, I don’t really want to pump chemicals in my dogs this year,
so I decided to look up natural ways to repel ticks.

Here’s what I found!
There are 2 types (3, I suppose. I’m only going to cover 2)
Oil based and water based… the other one was a lotion but I don’t want to use lotion.
*note: when using essential oil, dilute them with either water or another (non-essential) oil!

***********************************************************************

**** NATURAL TICK REPELLENT! ****

OIL BASED SPRAY #1
Ingredients:

  1. 2 tbsp veg/ nut oil (ie: almond oil)
  2. 10-25 drops rose geranium essential oil

Put in a glass container/ spray bottle and shake well!

***********************************************************************

OIL BASED SPRAY #2
Ingredients:

  1. 2 oz liquid oil jojoba, olive, etc.
  2. 20-40 drops geranium bourbon essential oil

Put in glass container/ spray bottle and shake well!

***********************************************************************

WATER BASED SPRAY #1
Ingredients:

  1. 1 tbsp vodka
  2. 40 drops rose geranium essential oil
  3. 1/3 cup distilled water

Put in glass container/ spray bottle and shake well!

***********************************************************************

WATER BASED SPRAY #2
Ingredients:

  1. 2 oz apple cider vinegar, witch hazel or vodka
  2. 2 oz water
  3. 20-40 drops geranium bourbon essential oil

Put in glass container/ spray bottle and shake well!

***********************************************************************

Those are all the recipes I found. I watched a video on the “water based #1” and the woman who used it said she hasn’t had a tick in 3 years. Her dog and family included in the tick count. So, that might be the one I go to first.

I also read that you have to be careful what type of BOTTLE you use.
I guess the oils can latch onto the plastic and draw the chemicals out?!?
Something like that. Don’t quote me hah. It said to look for spray bottles that are plastic.
OR to save you from searching through plastic, just use glass… It is safer and if you have a left over bottle, REUSE IT!

For those of you who don’t know how much an ounce is I will break it down.
1 OZ = 2 TBSP

Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

